The Church Union
Seeking to promote and renew Catholic Faith and life within the Church of England

A Message from Mr David Morgan
Chairman of The Church Union

Welcome to The Church Union web site.

This year a new Council has been elected by members. The Council comprises 12 members (6 clergy, 6 lay) and on 19th July the following were declared to have been elected as the new Council. Those with a * against their name are new members and those with a + against their name were re-elected having served on the previous Council.

Clergy Members of Council
* The Revd Fr Philip Corbett (Worksop Priory)
* The Revd Fr William Davage (Pusey House, Oxford)
* Bishop Martyn Jarrett (+Beverley)
+ The Revd Canon Arthur Middleton (Editor Church Observer)
* The Revd Fr Christopher Smith (Holborn)
* The Revd Fr Darren Smith (ACS)

Lay Members of Council
+ Mrs Claire Epsom (Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex)
* Mr Jeffrey Fuller (Brighton)
+ Mr David Llewelyn Morgan (Thaxted, Essex)
+ Mr Stephen Parkinson (Director FiF)
+ Mr John Pope (Chichester)
+ Mrs Margaret Tilley (Canterbury)

The Revd Fr Edwin Barnes (one time Bishop of Richborough) currently remains President of The Church Union. The AGM is scheduled for Wednesday, 19th October at 2pm at 2a The Cloisters, Gordon Square, London and The Council hopes that members will make a special effort to attend this year - details to be announced. Fr Edwin Barnes, now re-ordained as an RC Priest and a member of The Ordinariate will be replaced as President.

Without the knowledge of The Council members a farewell Statement from Fr Edwin (which we term a Valete) was put on this web site but has been removed. For those who did read that Valete - and particularly those members who were upset at what was said - the text of a letter of correction issued by The Chairman of The Council to Fr Edwin Barnes on 15th August can be read here.

David Morgan